The governors are responsible for setting and maintaining the ethos and strategic direction of the school.

In so doing they act as critical friends of the school, enabling the school to provide each and every student with the opportunity to achieve their full potential within a safe and secure environment.

Four groups of key stakeholders make up the governing body:

  • Parents - parent governors are elected for a four year term by parents at the school.
  • Staff, including the headteacher - staff governors (ie teaching and non-teaching staff) are elected by the school staff for a four year term.
  • Community - the governing body appoints up to three community governors (ie members of the local community who support the school) for a period of four years.
  • Local Authority - the Local Authority appoints one or more governors up to a total of three.

The governors work in partnership with the headteacher and other school staff to promote high standards of educational achievement at the school.  They help decide how the school should develop in order to maintain and improve its standards of education, and approve the broad policies, plans and procedures which will support that development.

Meetings of the full governing body take place quarterly.  Meetings of the various subcommittees take place at least once per year.  Each governor is linked to a subject area to help build a relationship with school personnel and gain knowledge of how the school works.  We work hard to ensure that the decisions made create the most favourable conditions:

  • For learning to flourish;
  • To ensure the good use of money;
  • For a safe secure and pleasant environment to learn / work in;
  • To promote sound organisation;
  • To recruit and retain excellent staff;
  • To adopt and implement policies which are fair, and which encourage good student behaviour, motivate staff and students, and for everyone to achieve their potential.


Governor Constitution

Membership of Governor Committees 

Governor Committee Dates for 2016 - 2017